Letter to My Unborn Child – 7

My son, look at me my son, look me straight into my eyes so you can take me very seriously; this life is very tough but I will make it easier for you. Where I am right now I could only achieve it today because, of the decisions I made, some of which were good, some of which were not so good but when you do make mistakes make sure you learn from them as they would mould you into a better man.

As you do embark on your journey through life, you will meet people; people who would help you, motivate you, condemn you, hate you, love you, sex you, kiss you, slap you, hit you and push you to do the things you were not brought up to do but don’t ever let  that change your soul, your drive, your goal or your vision. My boy don’t ever stop chasing your dreams because, you are of me and your grand father and your great grand father.

You are looking at your mirror in thirty years time but just this time when you do get here your reflection would be better than me what you see in the mirror because, you will do better than myself and your ancestors. I will help you, I will guide you, I will protect you, I will love you everyday even when you fail, when you succeed, when you’re down. I will always be there for you no matter what because, I am your father.

I want you to always be open to me tell me everything your dreams, your aspirations, your failures, your faults.  I want you to be open to me because, I have seen you naked and there’s nothing you should ever hide from me because, I am your father. I want you to know that everything I have is yours so don’t ever think you’re a nobody, don’t ever fear no man or take shit from no man because you will succeed and reach your goals as long as you are very focused.

You will get distracted by women because they are lovely and that’s how I met your mother. You will get distracted by friends, family and society but please my son I want you to have direction. Remember who you are, you are my son, a part of me and your mother. I want you to love everyone around you, I want you to care for people, like how you would love to be cared for. I want you to respect everyone like you respect yourself; you will meet fools but respect them because, it takes a lot to be a fool; you will meet wise people, hold them tight and learn from them to better yourself.

As for friends be very careful with them, some of them want to be you, they would want your life but hide it and pretend to love you but love all of them all regardless. You will meet people who would love you for you, hold them tight; those are your friends for life. Always help your friends out no matter what; treat everyone like how you would want to be treated it’s the only way love could ever be around you.

My son please don’t ever give up on your dreams, don’t ever stop; be self motivated always remember the son of who you are and where you’re coming from, when ever you are about to do something very stupid. You will encounter temptations to do drugs, alcohol, send but please be careful, learn from what ever experience you get and stop it. I am not saying don’t have fun but have fun in like an animal and study like an animal that is left alone in the desert to survive.

Ómo mi, as I look into your eyes, I see myself in you, I see my past so I want you to know that you will be fine; as long as you are focused, you will be a great man, greater than your grandfather and myself. I see you going places my son, so please be focused and don’t ever change for anyone. You can only improve on yourself.

Finally I want you to love God. I want you to hold him tight like he is what makes up the hairs on your skin. He would guide you and lead you to success; this is also how I met your mother. Through God everything would be made possible as he would move mountains for you. So my son I want you to know that I have your back no matter what, go into this world as you and I pray God guides you to success.

God be with you my son.

Dauchii


By Wole

Twitter: @wolelawal

Leave a comment